The Tune Tag

Aalapana tagged me – and I do this tag – because – this is the first time she has ever tagged me. I will remember to forget that she hasn’t done my tag. This one is a difficult tag – the sheer volume to choose from – and the fact that your mood dictates what you would write in this tag makes it difficult. I chose some all time favourites; some are current favourites. Here goes:

Your favourite lyricist and the lyrics you remember the most:

Kaifi Azmi; Kuch dil ne kaha, kuch bhi nahi; Anupama, 1966

Your favourite song on friendship

Ae yaar sun yaari teri mujhe zindagi se bhi pyaari hai; Suhaag, 1979

Best song portraying life’s emotions; about life, full of life

Madhuban khushboo deta hai; Saajan Bina Suhagan, 1978

Which song are you humming today?

Meri jaan, mujhe jaan na kaho; Anubhav 1971

One song which brings tears to your eyes

Karun kyaa aas niraas bhai; KL Saigal, Dushman, 1939

A song which gives you hope, reason to try again and again, a reason to say that life is beautiful

Hari bhari vasundhara be neela neela ye gagan; Boond jo Ban Gaye Moti, 1967

When you want to be with yourself, silent and content but with music, with song would that be?

Kabhi kabhi mere dil me khayal aata hai; Kabhi Kabhi, 1976

If you have to express your love for someone with a song which would that be

Jeevan se bhari teri aankhen, majboor kare jeene ke liye; Safar, 1970

Five songs which you listen to the most

Takey takey, Mangal Pandey, 2005

Ik Onkar, Rang de Basanti, 2005

Koi chupke se aake, Anubhav, 1971

Ab to hai tumse, Abhiman, 1973

Des Mere Des, The Legend of Bhagat Singh, 2002

Now the tag didn’t have a rule to tag-back. But I’d like a few fellow-bloggers to take this tag. Specifically, Jolvin, Appu, Adi, Parul, Arundhati, Bishwanath, and Viral. Either I know that they are into Hindi Film Music, or I’d like to know.

Have fun!

10 thoughts on “The Tune Tag

  1. ==Shankari:
    Thank you for taking up the tag. And I am glad I know all the ‘lesser heard’ ones from Sahir Sa’ab. Yes, I think he is just amazing – and my disclaimer to the tag – that it was too restrictive. I think – it just boils down to the ‘moment’ when you are doing the tag.

    pyaar par bas to nahi hai lekin phir bhi bataa de ki main tujhse pyaar karu.n ya na karu.n is a gem!

    Like

  2. Glad you are a kindred spirit and all! That one is taken in part from his first collection of poems Talkhiyaan 🙂

    And what of ‘aasman pe hai khuda aur zameen pe hum’?

    Gems all!

    Like

  3. ==Shankari:
    That’s a tough one! You can’t do that to me! They are “ALL” amazing. Have you ever wondered @ “aaj kal kisiko woh tokta nahi, chahe kuch bhi kar lo rokta nahi? Ever thought if khuda ever allowed that?

    Like

  4. Kuch dil ne kahaan… from Anupama is very close to my heart.,i can keep listening to that song all the time,everything about the song makes me feel good about it.The movie itself is so good and i keep watching it whenever i get a chance.
    Great selection of songs and in comments section you mentioned Saahir sa’ab,the one poet whom i feel is a legend in himself,and the song ,”pyaar par bas to nahi hai lekin phir bhi bataa de ki main tujhse pyaar karu.n ya na karu.n” is an all time favourite of mine.

    How about his “Fir na keeje meri gustakh nigaahi ka gila,dekhiye aapne fir pyaar se dekha hai mujhe” from Phir subah hogi.

    “Simti hui ye ghadiyan , fir se na bikhar jaye
    Is raat mein jee len hum, is raat mein mar jayen
    Bicchudi hui roohon ka ye mel suhana hai”

    “Na to caravan ki talaash hai,na to hamsafar ki talaash hai,Mere Shauq-E-Khaana Kharaab Ko, Teri Rehguzar Ki Talaash Hai” {sahir,rafi and manna dey, what a combination}
    Movie: Barsaat Ki ek Raat

    The song from Dushman reminded of a time when i was in 5th standard and my dad took me to his uncles house,and there i heard this song on his big gramaphone,the one which you find in old hindi movies, {well,i say that because i never really saw one except for that day at my dad’s uncle’s house}And my dad got his collection of all songs from his uncle,all audio cassettes,not those gramaphone records,but i secretly wished we got the gramaphone also,the song kept resounding at nights in dad’s room,but then it went silent..forever,i never heard it after my school:)
    Thankyou for completing the Tag.

    Like

  5. ==Alapana:
    I am trying hard to remember the “Fir na keeje meri gustakh nigaahi ka gila,dekhiye aapne fir pyaar se dekha hai mujhe”, it i snot coming to me – though Phir Subah Hogi is a well known film for me. I’ll find that out. I guess even you realise how difficult this tag is – because to pullout a few gems from an abundant diamond mine is not a just task.

    All songs you mentioned – love them. “Simti hui yeh ghadiyan”, is possibly one of the most romantic song ever.

    Thanks for tagging – it did make all the wonderful music and poetry come back from different directions! 🙂

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.