Silsila: An Affair to Express

Majboor ye haalaat idhar bhi hai udhar bhi
Tanhai ki ek raat idhar bhi hai udhar bhi
Kehno ko bahut kuch hai magar kis-se kahe hum
Kab tak yun hi khamosh rahe aur sahe hum
Dil kehta hai duniya ki har ek rasm utha de
Deewaar jo hum donon me hai aaj gira de
Kyun dil me sulagte rahe – logon ko bata de
Haan hum ko mohabbat hai mohabbat hai – mohabbat
Ab dil me yahi baat idhar bhi hai udhar bhi

So goes a monologue in a song in Silsila. If you know the song and the meaning of the words – it’s plain and simple – it’s about two lovers wanting to express their love – out in the open. Let me bring my love out of the closet – let’s tell the world that we love. Period.

This is the best that a wannabe poet can do; the literal translation:

Desperate is the situation with you and me
A lonely night – here and there
So much to say, who do I say it to
How long will I be bound to silence, to bear
My heart cries out to eradicate convention
Break the walls between us
Why burn within the heart – just say it out
Yes I am in love, in love – just love
Now the throes of this thought beat in the heart – yours and mine

How many times have we asked – what love is – and how many times have we got answers? And what *kind* of answers?

Here is my prosaic translation of this beautiful stanza.

My friend, our love exists; it’s as alive as the air you breathe and the water you drink. There may be many reasons why we do not express, but the state of your heart – and mine – cannot deny the emotion that we feel. How many times have you questioned yourself and me – about what love is – know this that love is eventually about expression. Non-expression is only desperation – in your heart and mine. And we cry together, geographically apart. Better declare – the pain – in your heart and mine, speak – we need to know – the saddest love is the one that went unexpressed.

With due respect to the author of the original; I submit my expression of a beautiful thought.

In kind memory of friends who have forgotten to express love and think that definition, structure, and proof is more important than expression.

4 thoughts on “Silsila: An Affair to Express

  1. I read that. its a nice one. wish I was able to remember all such beautiful songs and recite them whenever i feel like. something important that i am gaining from reading your blogs is the urge to read more and one day be able to write something like you do. may be not as good as you do, but yes upto an extent that i am able to express myself to my satisfaction.–>

    Like

  2. ==EU:
    It is proof, but it is not ‘only’ proof.

    I don’t think there is a need for a definition for any relationship – but yes – definitely a method to say that the relationship exists – one way or the other 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Dialogue with Solitude « Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

