Story-listeners

I was called a storyteller, recently. (Read this first, if you want to make sense of this post)

I acknowledge that I am a storyteller, don’t want to be modest and such. There have been a few times when I have told stories. Some have been good stories, some have been quite lame. But that’s how you get there, you keep at it.

In the post (link above) where I was called a storyteller, I wondered what kind of storyteller I am. I am not C-Bag, and I am grateful for that. I am definitely not Wallace-ish. I am certain, I am not Murakami-ish. But I am someone-ish, perhaps. Which makes me think of this anthem by S&G:

This post is not about the style of stories that are being told. This is about the stories that I cannot tell. Stories of love. Stories of hate dislike. Stories of gain and loss. Stories of depression and ecstasy. No, those stories don’t sell.

The people in the stories do not want these stories to be published.

Some stories will be ours, personal, and secret. They may be beautiful, dreary, shocking, wondrous, or fantastic, but they will be untold. Storytelling is not just the responsibility of the storyteller.

Do not be a passive, patient audience.

2 thoughts on “Story-listeners

  1. Seemed like you’re holding something back. It finished too soon. To abruptly. Maybe that was intended.

    Yup, there are more untold stories than those that are told. And even the ones that are told, tend to put a veil on the one’s they are trying to tell, because of the reasons you mention. There is always that dilemma of a story-teller of what s/he can legitimately tell. Reminded of Woody Allen’s “Deconstructing Harry” …

    Liked by 1 person

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

