A Permanent Image

I was on vacation, last week.

It has been a while that I have been on a vacation. Those of you know me, will probably be rolling your eyes. Yes, I have been on a holiday recently, but it has been a while that I have been on a vacation. Somewhere, in my mind a break, a holiday, and a vacation are different. I mean obviously they are different, they are three different words. But how they differ, actually, is a mystery to me. It’s probably got to do with the length, of how long you are away. This one was a full week, so, vacation.

A vacation after five years, almost. And much has changed, since my last vacation.

I saw all that I thought I would see. The faraway trailing mountain lines, the thready waterfalls of summer, the centenarian eucalypti seeking the sky, wild flowers sidelining the roads, brightly coloured happy homes that are the stuff of dreams, and sunsets that Turner would want to capture on a canvas. I saw all of that. Yes, I did.

I also saw, however, that no one else was seeing all this. Almost everyone had their backs to these wondrous sights. Seeing the sight doesn’t matter much. Being seen with the sight is now important. At all places, yes, all places, all the tourists had their back to what they came to see. This is not to say that they weren’t seeing the mountains, the trees, the waterfalls, or the flowers. They were seeing it. They were seeing it on their phones, bounded in an unnatural 16:9 ratio on a five-inch screen, while they took a photo of themselves being there.

I do not deride these selfie-seekers. For, when you are on a vacation, you must seek that, that makes you happy. I am, however, unable to relate to it.

How I look to the mountains; how the mountains look at me, is an image. It will never be shared. But it is forever.

It’s etched on my soul.

2 thoughts on “A Permanent Image

  1. Whenever I see a sight as beautiful as this, I capture in my mind’s eye. I remember these lines of Wordsworth everytime.

    I gazed and gazed but little thought
    What wealth the show to me had brought
    For oft when on my couch I lie
    In vacant or in pensive mood
    They flash upon that inward eye
    Which is the bliss of solitude

    I went from feeling pity for fellow travelers to being thankful for we have mutually exclusive things to see. The less people in my category would leave me more space to do what I want to do.

    Yearning for a vacation now. Somehow all the vacations I plan are getting cancelled.

    Reading your blog or any blog after a long long time. Good to see that you are still at it and being consistent too. My thoughts are now originating and culminating in my mind without a medium for outpouring. I might miss knowing my younger me when I grow real old and wonder how I was back then. I have digressed enough here. 🙂 Oh well, but a reflective post needs a reflective comment. So what if the angle of the mirror is different! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome back AW! It has been a long-long time! So nice to see you here. 🙂 I really miss these log comments, thoughts, and counter-thoughts these days. Even those Wow, great, super comments have died.

      I guess we are better off, in terms of the crowding, when different people want different things. (In this case, though, they obstruct what I want to see!)

      I wish you a vacation soon, and pray that you find a reason to write again! Thank you for the ‘reflective’ comment!

      PS: You can see that not having replied to comments for a while, has affected the quality of my replies too! 😀

      Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

