The Early December Post

Which might imply that there is a late-December post. I don’t know now, if there will be one. Maybe.
*

All my social networks are telling me that the year is coming to an end. I wouldn’t have known otherwise. No, truly. The calendar has stopped making sense. And I like it that way. I don’t want to be a slave to the calendar.

This year, 2016, I pledged to read 12 books on Goodreads. I have clocked 25 books. As of today. I doubt if I will complete more books in the next 25 days. Frankly, I don’t care. in 2017, I will pledge to read 12 books.

16.35.28: Molecular Biology - Reagents & Kits

Once there was Librarythings, the there was Shelfari (If you know what I mean, like this post), then there was Goodreads; pretty much the IMDB of books. But I have given up on the commitment of n number of books that I will read.

Books are not to be consumed; they are to be savoured. 

Not all books are life-changing. We’ll end up reading books for various reasons. One reason we should never read books, because we want to put out on display how many books we read.

All books are life-changing. Come to think of it.

May we, in 2017 and onwards, talk of books, and not count them.

4 thoughts on “The Early December Post

  1. Agree. Yet, I feel every now and then that there’s so much to read and just one little life that this kind of target setting helps
    PS: I am failing in mine 🙂

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

