How Blue Should Be: #Anthem 17

If you have missed earlier Anthem posts, see all of them here.

~

51-SPMEH7fLThere may be people in this world who aren’t particularly fond of blue. I have, however, yet to come across someone who despises blue. It is pretty much an inescapable colour.

But how should blue really be?

There is no one answer to that question. Blue is different for all of us – whether we love blue or not. But there’s on shade that Paul Simon talks of, and it is a beautiful shade.

It’s Dazzling Blue.

I’ve always loved Paul Simon’s work, right from Tom & Jerry, Simon & Garfunkel, and later, when he was just Paul Simon. Name an emotion and there’s an S&G or a PS song for it. But Dazzling blue is different. Very different.

It’s a song of culmination, rediscovery, and existence itself. It’s love at its best.

And we wondered why, and imagined it was someday
And that is how the future came to be

There’s a timelessness to the words in this song; it is perhaps more relatable to me due to the use of the tabla. And not just the lyrics, the music is as visual as it can be.

For all the times that all of us have felt it, but never had a song, here it is.

PS: I must say, with some sadness, that the person who started this meme is not blogging anymore. But A’s A, if you are reading this, thank you!

 

2 thoughts on “How Blue Should Be: #Anthem 17

  1. I loved this post. I admit, I ‘know of’ this series that you write & have read a post or two. I don’t ‘know it’, in the sense of having understood exactly what the meme was about. I loved this one, because it reminded me of S&G. And also of this particular song & album, that you’ve been so kind enough as to share with me. I am amused, and I did not know, that they started out as Tom & Jerry 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ❤ Keep following, mate – and thankfully, it will always be here – take your time. Next time we meet, I'll tell you more stories of T&J, S&G, and PS – and AG. 😀 (When we meet @ home)

      Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

