Here’s Looking At Us

Of all the abstract things, time is the most intriguing of all. One might argue that given the measurability and calculability, time is the most discrete of all. But its nature and its character is the most abstract.

I had once said — I don’t remember when or where — that, what’s time, if not the measure of events and incidents? Or, maybe someone else had said, and I just repeated it. Time passes, I forget.

Couple of days ago, a friend said that you give a man (he of course meant, ‘a person’ – he is old school) enough time alone and man will discover himself. I agreed, it made perfect sense, given the context of our conversation. Later, I wondered, if we discover our selves by ourselves or through others. Others can, however, only tell us how they see us; but it becomes a mirror for seeing ourselves, later. So we can discount what others think of us (which we should do more often), but we should not ignore that mirror. In the least, we should see together.

22FEB

*

 

The long drives
The conversations
The silences
The intimacy
The distances
The friendship

*

Lifestyle is on sale.

There are too many telling us what a worthwhile life is. But for that, we will have to become the truth that they experienced. I am glad, I never did. Ever. My timeline is not glamorous enough to be published, but it’s mine. And I care not for the future markers and their description.

But I’ve lived, a good time, and in good times. With you. Notwithstanding some of the markers in black, that stand out to give the harmony a unique signature. It’s not perfect, but then we never sought perfect, did we?

It seems that perfection is attained not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to remove. ~ Antoine de Saint Exupéry

I know what was, I know what is. I know not, what will be. So, I celebrate only what I know. On the 19th, I will say it again. As well, on the 20th, and the 21st. For I will know more of the is and was than the will be.

Here’s looking at you. And here’s looking at me.

Through the lens of time.

11 thoughts on “Here’s Looking At Us

  1. Interesting! Yes, nobody can understand and see your timeline the way you look at it and the way you perceive it.
    The moment is now and we can either chose to live this moment or give it all away (live through Social Media) for posterity.

    Here’s to discovering and rediscovering!

    Liked by 1 person

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

