A Happy New Year

In five minutes, it will be 2016.

Happy New Year!

If everything goes well, I will be in (and around) Orchha, when you read this, scheduled, post. (It’s 29DEC, today; i.e. when I am writing this.)

By Anders Bjurnemark (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

(I’ll post my photos of Orchha later, for now, here’s a teaser) By Anders Bjurnemark (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

In this old city, steeped in history, of the land of the brave, I was imagining a discovery of my self. More-so, a discovery, of what self-discovery is. A popular point in a calendar, is a ceremonial point for reflection; I was going with the flow. Deep down, I had resigned that I would not discover anything that I already knew, and have regardless — ignored. My hope, really, was to see if I’d commit to what I have always known. If I was alone, for four days, there was a chance. If I sensed something new, that would be a bonus.

What was going to be a solo-trip, has now swelled to nine co-travellers. And, no, I am not complaining. On the contrary, I am happy about it. I enjoy the feeling of having people around. And while I am meeting five people for the first time, I am glad, that these people will be with me.

There’s a sense of adventure.

I’ve known people who plan everything to the last detail (I am (kind of) one of them). When my nerdy friend made this into a big affair, I relinquished control. Not because he is a better planner than I am; because, for once, I want to go with the flow. For once, I don’t want to be in control; I want to follow.

I cannot say, now, if I will enjoy it. There’s a very good chance, I will. But, I want to experience it. “I’ll do whatever you say.”

For this one event, I am completely letting go.

Next year, I’ll tell you, how it worked out.

*

I wish you all a very Happy New Year. I wish that whatever you wish for, comes true. I wish you peace. I wish you happiness. In-spite of the disturbing times we live in. That’s a good word: in-spite. There’s a sense of resilience in it.

With family and friends (and may the line between family & friends be as blurred as can be), I wish you joy, laughter, happiness, giggles, warmth, and love, forever. With those who are long gone and with those who share the same space, spread the joy that tomorrow will be better, Not because it will be, because we will make it so.

Love.

8 thoughts on “A Happy New Year

  1. I am still awaiting the details, because I simply can not believe that *you* actually relinquished control :p So happy to read this post, for many reasons. And some of those reasons I shall save for a conversation that happens in person, when it does. Happy New Year, brother. Much love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I *actually* did relinquish control. In fact, even changed the plan at the last minute. It was, indeed, a liberating experience. I look forward to that conversation, my dear friend. It has been a while. Happy New Year to you too – much bliss and peace your way!

      Like

  2. Pingback: As Expected: An Experience | Gaizabonts
  3. Pingback: Happy New Year | bum bum bhole

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

