Hearts & Homes

I’ll be frank.

I’ve never really understood the where of the where the heart is. I am, if it isn’t obvious, referring to the adage — home is where the heart is.

12138546_10156091039110573_6819931460489077849_o

There’s a certain trivialisation of the home, in that thought. Like, the home is a slave to the heart. Our heart is, where we are. So, when we move, that’s where the heart is: pretty obvious. Per se the heart never leaves us, it is with us where ever we are. The home? It’s at a place. It’s fixed. If you are out shopping in a place full of ethnic wares, that’s where your heart is, but it isn’t your home. Home, is where you home is. It matters less, what you call home.

Home, for me, is place you go back to. After all your adventures. After your heart has wandered all over. Tell me, that in spite of the comforts of the world, you don’t feel happy coming back home to your lumpy mattress, your own pillow, and your tattered and overused blanket: I’d say you are lying.

Perhaps, they really meant: Heart peace, comfort, and joy is where the home is.

If you are lucky like me, you will have more than one place that you call home. But that’s where we want to come, after hours, days, weeks, months, or even years. We all have more than a home, really. If you have found yourself addressing a place as mine without much thought, that’s one of the place that you belong to and it belongs to you.

That’s home.

2 thoughts on “Hearts & Homes

  1. Love these interesting thoughts. I’m lucky to have two homes and they are so different. One home (Melbourne) is where I grew up and where all my family and friends are. The other home is Bowen where I moved to last year. I’d say that my heart is in Queensland because this location was made for me: I love the beaches, the sun, the quiet atmosphere. I adore the place I grew up and it’s my culture and background so it will always be home and a place I can alwaya slip back into, but Queensland has my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

