Din Daa Daa: #Anthem 8

This is a post where I (potentially) let all of you laugh. At me. For some of my readers, this is comic beyond expectations. For me, and some of us who lived in these time, it is epic. #YouChoose. This is the #AnthemChallenge

*

IMG_4554It’s the late eighties. I am surviving the most critical academic years. What I should be doing is studying. The Grammys are on. There is no such thing called the Internet. No YouTube. And for the first time, ever. Michael Jackson’s “The Way You Make Me Feel” video is being shown. Eighties was the time when I was young, nimble. Breakdance. There is an extended video of the song. The national channel has a rerun of the Grammys. Next week. Late night. We’ve seen the video once. We don’t believe it. We pool money. Hire a VCR. Inadvertently, we get an education about cables. Buy a blank VHS tape. We record the show. We don’t move an inch when MJ’s “The Way You Make Me Feel” is playing. We pray to God that it gets recorded. Towards the end (when the song is almost over) there’s a small piece. MJ does a moonwalk. A circular moonwalk. For the life of me, I cannot find that piece, online. But it existed. I can tell you, because I learnt it, watching him. We wore down the rewind, pause, and play buttons for that one piece. I can still do it, though nobody likes to see me doing it now. We gather below our abodes and perfect the moonwalk. Linear & Circular. We practice the Wall and the rope. We join hands and do the wave, till we are satisfied that we have done it well.

This has nothing to do with the girls that we otherwise try to impress. This is religion. We, breakdance.

The VHS library procures some more movies. We only want breakdance.

And along came (a bit late to our local VHS borrowing library) Breakin’ (1984) and Breakin’ 2: Electric Boogaloo (1984). And without warning, we were introduced to Din Daa Daa. (also released as “Trommeltanz (Din Daa Daa), by George Kranz. Here’s the video of the original song. (Which might help explain the laughter factor, for you kids). But the video that should be embedded in this post is this. All you have to do is imagine a younger me doing something similar. Not with this kind of finesse, though.

And, it’s ok, if you don’t believe me. This song happens to be one of the best things that ever happened to me. That’s good enough.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Din Daa Daa: #Anthem 8

  1. Fantastic! Its great that you can look back on this period of your life with such fondness. Thanks for sharing :] Great dancing.

    Like

    • Welcome to Gaizabonts, Joe. Thank you, glad this post resonates with you. As far as my moves are concerned, hard luck, we didn’t have mobile phones or video cameras then. And anyway, it was not worth, given what you see in the video above! 🙂 Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

