Writing Tomorrow’s Post

Tomorrow’s post is going to be easy.

It’s a no brainer, what tomorrow’s post is going to be about. It’s a summary of all that happened this month about this post-a-day challenge that I took up. Easy post. Just like the first post, this month. It’s the posts in the middle that have caused all the pain. Of course, needless to say, when I say pain, I don’t intend to complain.

Advice to Writers; Billy Collins; http://www.moragjoss.com/writers_and_writing.asp

Advice to Writers; Billy Collins; http://www.moragjoss.com/writers_and_writing.asp

I had to kick myself about blogging, because a sense of complacency was setting in, given the decade that this blog has been alive. It has been a while now, that I have stopped actively paying attention to page stats, likes and votes. I visit all followers’ blogs at least once; partly to see what they write about, and in some part to know what nature of people follow my blog. I ignore all the obvious spam blogs or product blogs, but once in a while, you find a refreshing blog, like Alfred’s Almanac.

Newer social networks provided a simpler, easier, and faster way for people to have conversations, sometimes having one word (Like!) or one number (+1) conversations and all exchanges moved on to those networks. I did too, for a while. Why bother writing a hundred words when you can make do in ten. I suspect that the reason conversations seem longer on these social networks is because the idea isn’t well expressed, and bulk of the comments that follow are about refining the thought. In any case, these networks still seem to be the place where most conversations happen.

As my writing became infrequent, the phenomenon folded upon itself doubly, and I discovered I could not write very well. So I wrote less. Triple fold. I could not write at all. (Perhaps that is a bit of an exaggeration). Yet, quite an effort was called for, to write the simplest of things. I thought I had lost interest in blogging, but I hadn’t. That’s where the challenge came in.

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 19.05.46Like any other discipline, writing too is all about discipline. The distracting clutter has to cleaned up, the act has to have purpose. Thoughts have to be coaxed and cajoled to form a shape. The shape’s surface and curves and angles have to be adorned by the right words. And the words have to be your own and should not be slave to and unknown future acknowledgement by another.

I started watching my stats again. And it was encouraging, to say the least. You can see what’s happened in July. This is not to say that if you write regularly, people will come to your site. It doesn’t guarantee that people will like your posts or leave many comments. Nothing, guarantees anything.

Just like this post, I think. This was meant to be tomorrow’s post about the entire month of writing.

Tomorrow’s post is not going to be easy.

4 thoughts on “Writing Tomorrow’s Post

  1. I love your writing style and believe you are unique among bloggers. You seem to write exactly whatever you want and I respect that. I assumed it all came easily to you. Tomorrow’s post may be easier than you think;) thanks for your very kind words.

    Like

    • Thank you Paul. I had lost my way somewhere in between, but I have seemed to have found it again. Nothing is easy; I think you know that. All good things need effort; sometimes heavy effort. I do not know about tomorrow’s post. We will see. And, you are welcome, I mean what I say – It is refreshing to read your blog. 🙂 Have fun.

      Like

      • Thank you Atul. I agree nothing is easy. However, you make it look easy, but of course, we don’t see the torment the writer goes through, only the words on the page. I am having fun. That’s how I view my blog. But, my word, does it give me a head ache 🙂

        Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

