You wait for it to come to you

Maybe, there’s a lesson in here, for all of us.

‘Somebody asked me: ‘What do you do? How do you write, create?’ You don’t, I told them. You don’t try. That’s very important: not to try, either for Cadillacs, creation or immortality. You wait, and if nothing happens, you wait some more. It’s like a bug high on the wall. You wait for it to come to you. When it gets close enough you reach out, slap out and kill it. Or if you like its looks, you make a pet out of it.’ ~ Charles Bukowski

(Via Charles Bukowski, American Author – Don’t Try.)

3446: The Warrior Art - 8a

I discovered Charles Bukowski, quite by accident. I wasn’t trying. There’s an element of laid-back laziness about this way of life, which doesn’t come easily to most of us. To even get close to this category of laziness, we have to try. Some of my poor writing this month has been a result of that: trying. And as I look back, it was also about trying the wrong thing. I was trying to get a post in for the day; not trying to write.

I’ll stop trying at the end of the month.

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

