In these Eight Years…

…I have contemplated my blogging more than eight times.

In recent times more so.

Conversations are sparse and acknowledgement is dwindling. Attention spans are smaller and the gap in our understanding is bigger. While the nay-sayers predict the end of the blog, I continue this pursuit. To what end, I do not know, but I am unable to give up on blogging the way some of my peers have.

Good thinking and good ideas need space. More than 140 (or so)  characters. Friends have been contemplating leaving Facebook. Some friends have already quit on Twitter. But a large majority have let go of blogging. For their own reasons. A sense of loneliness hovers around me, threateningly.

I did not complete 800 posts, this time. My 100posts/year benchmark has been missed. Funnily, I am not upset about it. It doesn’t matter anymore. Very few people care about your blog. Very few people care about their blog. They are content with your shorts on Facebook and Twitter. (Sidenote: I love it when people predict the death of things and I love it even more, when people post about the death of things, insisting that that prediction of death is useless.)

The Blog is dead; long live the Blog. 633 people follow this blog. I am sure this is WordPress bug. There is no way that 633 people follow this blog, I am willing to bet on it. It’s New Year and all. Hopefully, you have had a Merry Christmas.

As far as I know, only one person has read all the 670 posts on this blog. Maybe, you are another one of them. But, I do not know. You didn’t tell me.

As you have already gathered, this is the eighth anniversary of this blog. Eight is an odd year. We are more sentimental of rounded anniversaries. 5, 10, 15, etc. The 8th doesn’t figure here. So, I will not make a big deal about it. We have become slaves to rounded milestones. We take great pleasure in celebrating anniversaries that end in a number that is a multiple of 5. Why? I always wonder.

This is a scheduled post. I wrote this post a few days before the 29th. On the day that you read this post, I am probably in a place which does not have Internet or mobile connectivity. Since I have an idea where I will be, let me tell you – I am happy to be where I am. I hope you are happy too, wherever you are. I wish, that you are happy too, wherever you are.

I do not know if I will post anything before the New Year, so here’s wishing you all a very Happy New Year! Work for your dreams and make then come true!

6 thoughts on “In these Eight Years…

  1. Congratulations! 8 years is a long time. Great commitment. I hear you about the loneliness. I don’t find the motivation. I don’t find the words that keeps me challenged. A very happy new year to you too.

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

