On Inspiration

There isn’t much in this world, nowadays, that inspires.

I believe that I would have remained a “tourist photographer” if I wasn’t ever exposed to a few folks who have a very different, thoughtful, and a philosophical approach to photography. My photos would primarily be of centred objects, documentary proof of my presence and flat superimpositions of family and friends against touristy backdrops. Not that there is anything disparaging about such photographs, but I believe I wouldn’t have liked what I did, after a while.

I feel blessed to have discovered Candida Höfer, and of course all the students of the Bernd and Hilla Becher school. She is an oasis of inspiration in an otherwise monotonous desert. Candida Höfer continues to inspire me, after all these years.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “On Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Flashback Photography: Part 1 | Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

