Disconnecting

The last time I took a vacation, it was seven years ago. I have taken many holidays since then, but never a vacation. My definition of a vacation is the reason why I haven’t taken a vacation since 2003.

A vacation is a pure holiday when you, rather than the world you usually live in, decide the level of your connectedness or dis-connectedness to the world. Seven years ago, I was in far-off Africa, and the only one time I connected to my world was to wish my sister on her birthday, through a landline.

Online social networking didn’t exist then, and I had a film camera. Life was much slower in 2003, when I think back and am quite surprised that it was just seven years ago! Now, to make such a vacation happen, seems almost stressful. To not use the phone to connect back, will require effort.

But, I’ll try.

9 thoughts on “Disconnecting

    • Except for the occasional status posting and photo upload – it worked very well. I was disconnected – in the sense I expected to be.

      I used the device for sure – but for holidaying! 🙂 More in a post!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Life in 1732kms « Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

