Like, No More

Someday, we will have to wonder what the “Like” button across social media, did to us.

Recently, I was reading a post regarding comments on our blogs. It was a post titled, Are You Making It Hard for People to Comment? by Joanna Paterson on the Confident Writing blog. Some interesting points there, if you wonder why the interaction on the blog isn’t what you expect. If not, don’t bother.

I had a thought about it. I wrote:

I am not sure about this, but I wonder whether all the “sharing links” and the “liking links” are equal culprits. If the end of the post is pretty busy with sharing buttons, folks would rather share (or just *like* the post) rather than adding a comment.

The reader acknowledges your post, but does not leave a footprint on the blog.

Recently, I have been adding quite a few photos on Facebook, and while I am glad that people “Like” my photos, I do get irritated by the constant notifications of people who like stuff that I post. When you think hard about it, a like doesn’t mean much! I am searching for a way that Facebook doesn’t notify me of the likes. Hopefully, I’ll find it.

IMG_7711 - Version 2.jpg

And even if I cannot do that on Facebook, I am definitely doing it on my blog. The ratings, the shares, the like buttons – will all go away. One thing about blogging that I have enjoyed for a long time, is the interaction — the conversation (though, nothing beats a talk over a coffee or a beer). I have little, but I hope this will rekindle some conversation on my blog. Of course, this doesn’t stop the reader from sharing my posts.

I think, the like and share buttons have become replacements for good expression. They have also become the means of being lazy without sounding so. Clicking these buttons allows us to make our presence felt. But it ends there. And like Amit says, it has become “too commonplace” — too commonplace to mean anything meaningful.

So, therefore.

13 thoughts on “Like, No More

  1. sometimes, one is just awestruck by the words, as i am, at this instance. not that there isn’t anything to say, but the fear, that saying it, would render it meaningless or may be even ugly.
    like the pictures you post. art is a funny thing; i never could ‘appreciate’ it, but stop and stare.
    i am going to start thinking about quitting FB.

    Like

    • I’ll disagree with you there, bum. Talking about art (I am not talking about my posts), in my opinion gives it more dimensions of meaning and understanding. Expressing an opinion or thought never affects the art itself.

      As regards quitting FB, while that’s completely your call, it still has its utility. There are some good people out there, remaining connected with them is something that FB allows you to do well.

      FB is for you; you aren’t for FB. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m actually in the process of adding sharing buttons to my blog and came across this post in my search for sharing codes and icons. I’m sure that sharing buttons are attractive to lazy reader but they do have their place. As a relatively new blogger I find it challenging to expand my readership beyond people I know in the flesh. Sharing buttons help bring my site to the attention of a wider viewership.

    A few days ago a co-worker stumbled one of my posts, three days later I have received 6 visitors from stumble, each of whom visited multiple pages. Not a tone but it is viewers I wouldn’t otherwise reach. Since expanding the share options my daily stats have doubled.

    With all that being said, if I find that the amount of comments I receive drop I will consider removing some.

    Like

    • Welcome to Gaizabonts, Anastasia!

      The like and share buttons have their place. Especially when you are new and are looking for readership/views. Further, as a blogger, we need to be clear about why we blog and we’d like of it.

      I think the share/like buttons will help you quite a lot, at this time.

      I am generally unconcerned about stats and page-views on this blog, therefore I have removed them. Elsewhere, I keep these links.

      Best Wishes! 🙂

      Like

  3. I may have said this before, but you have this gift for putting the difficult, abstract stuff into words. Other posts require some real rumination. Once that happens, leaving a “wow, wish I’d thought of that/written it like that” etcetera seems a little shady.

    However, your posts are eagerly awaited, so there is something in that.

    As for Facebook, the less said the better. A recent article called the FB generation the loneliest. What pathos.

    Like

    • Hmm. This piece had an abstract concept behind it? How so?

      I think there is a sweeping generalisation in the “lonely generation” concept; while there is merit in that tag, I have found FB to be a useful tool to get-together with friends.

      FB is just a tool, in the end. It’s like mistaking the colour for the artwork (not a great example, but I think you understand). While we remain clear about that, all is good, methinks.

      Like

  4. Bravo.

    I would have done the same, but no one even ‘likes’ my posts anymore, so it would hardly make a difference ;-).

    Kidding aside, I think it’s been a mixed bag — the whole sharing business. While I’ve seen more ‘views’ post a share on twitter/FB, the ration of views to comments has severely deteriorated.

    What’s worse, my blog reading has also changed significantly to the point where I only read the explicitly ‘shared’ posts. Going back to ‘reader’ has been on my mind, but the lazy ease of FB/twitter is surely not helping …

    Only sin I’ve not committed is of not converting an appreciation into just a like — unless it’s a family photograph (even there I tend to like ‘and’ comment). There might be a few exceptions, but overall, I think that holds true.

    So here is the dilemma (what life without a dilemma?): share for views and hope for but receive no comments, and ‘not share’ for possible better view -> comments ration, for less views.

    I consider a “good one” in reply for a sharing tweet, as a ‘no comment’ (and a ‘good one’ in comment as a no comment — rather like a ‘like’ button press).

    Currently, I’m in don’t care mode. I think I’ll fix the content first (something I’ve been saying I would for eons), and then fix the rest. But I hear you. And I appreciate this (however much I wanted to ‘like’ this when I first read this in a toilet, on my blackberry).

    Like

  5. Pingback: Blank Blog « Muse Cruise

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

