The Continuing Death of a Blog

The blogs are dying.

It’s difficult to hold a conversation nowadays – a face-to-face one even. I am amazed that even when we are in a coffee shop, we exchange URLs and search strings for an amazing YouTube video. That conversation then ends abruptly, because unless you have seen the YouTube video or seen the Facebook photo or downloaded the iTunes podcast or subscribed to the latest Web 2.0 service, there is no context to the conversation.

I won’t go and count, but I think I have written more on dying blogs than I have written to keep the blog alive.

It’s funny that there is a hesitation to share freely on a blog. It seems, it’s easier and more acceptable to do it on Facebook and Twitter with surprising recklessness. There’s less cognitive load to act in the Facebook/Twitter theatre; significantly higher on a blog. It’s a strain, when you have to blog about the same thing.

I found good use for Twitter and this blog’s Tumblr sibling. Whenever I had an idea that needed some TLC, I’d tweet it or tumblr it. The previous post was one such post. Increasingly though, these raw and crude ideas end up remaining just that and keep getting pushed to “Older Entries”.

Facebook doesn’t cut it out for me, as it used to. When I first joined Facebook and found friends (read, real friends) who were geographically away, I thought it was a good way to keep in touch. It has however, become a ruckus, of sorts. Networking is overated. People you have never met create a deafening noise in your lifestream. I wonder if the very concept of ‘being friends’ is lost to us.

Then, there is attention span. It’s diminishing at an alarming rate. The posts on my blog with least views are those that are long. One-liners get the most attention.

With all this, our thoughts start becoming shallow. And the only way to post a shallow thought is a Facebook status message or a Tweet. As more bloggers take refuge in shallowness the blog lives, but empty.

The blogs aren’t dying, bloggers are.

14 thoughts on “The Continuing Death of a Blog

  1. You have addressed several issues in this post, pertaining to blogging, and communication. While each one calls for their own discussions, I don’t think a blog can live if the blogger was dying. One needs the other for existence.

    I never got into the madness that Facebook allows us. I have used it only for socializing and sometimes maybe an ego boost. That is probably why I even like it. I know how to use it to my advantage and not let a social website take over my life. However I have never tweeted! I have no idea and like so many things in my life I think I will never know.

    Like

    • Well,and its like everything is built on one liners.. So I tweet as well as facebook.. but I still think that that could be used for a different purpose and blogging has a different purpose..

      the point is for us to choose where we want to be fixed.. Writers who like to write will still use Blogs.

      I will still do blogs as long as I can.. haahh !! am not ready to give up.. readers or no readers… LOL..

      I usually connect posts to Facebook too.. where most of the junta are. It works.. to a certain extent.. to share my thoughts.. but again, its very subjective..

      Like

    • As Gauri says below, FB & TW offer a sense of escapist freedom and almost a relief from the guilt of not blogging. You are able to tell yourself, you are posting, even if in small measure.

      Perhaps another way of concluding the post would have been to say that the art of blogging is dying. But even that isn’t true. There are those that are doing more than justice. I am taking of bloggers like me, who have slightly lost their way (and the fact that the post was talking of many things at once, is proof) for posting, and perhaps everything social is affecting them.

      Like

    • Ah! I wonder if it is. The excerpts seem to point so. I’ll see if I can get a preview at a bookstore somewhere. Asuph had pointed me to an Edge article, “How is the internet changing the way you think?” , because of which I wrote “Writing on the Wall”; where I had written similar thoughts and links, where I said what I have already said here.

      In general, I am beginning to agree, with that philosophy.

      Like

  2. An autobiographical blog, based on our daily lives, is harder than most, simply because we don’t live the Indiana Jones life that allows for a lot of new information. For the most part, we are ordinary people executing our routines. after a point, it is remarkable to come across an absolutely ‘unique’ perspective on life, even allowing for subjectivity.

    The fact that attention spans are falling, the patient following of long sentences and complex ideas is decreasing, yes. So are the intricacies of relationships, friends or otherwise. Making an effort to repair these is, in the end, an individual solution. Question is, can one shake off the stupor enough to make that effort ?

    Like

    • Girish, I’ll point you back to your recent post, “The Seeker”. I’ll disagree that our ordinary lives disallow adventure, more so because we are dealing with a very confined meaning of “adventure”. Even the simple routine journey from Mumbai to Pune is rife with adventure – though it is not Indian Jones-esque in content. The problem, usually, is not the experience – it is the expression.

      With falling attention spans and an ability to stay with a thought (not everybody, may I add; only a few like me), we are becoming paupers in expression. Cartoons on Geek & Poke may be funny on the face of it, but they are a window to see the lives we are living.

      If we end up liking and identifying the “SMS-life”, there isn’t, I think, a need to shake of the stupor. That’s how we want to live. If we don’t like what we are doing, then obviously we have to do something about it.

      Like writing an ‘almost-a-post’ in reply to a comment! 🙂

      Like

  3. In fact, I find that Twitter and FB status messages give a lot of escapist freedom. 140 characters and tht’s it.. it becomes more abt letting shortened URLs do the talking for you .. I haven’t yet got in the groove, but this is what I feel at the moment.

    but don’t let your blog die if you can help it…

    Like

    • It does indeed – and that is a good comment on what FB&TW allow – the escapist freedom. I am yet to really get Twitter, though I have not given up on it. Someday I’ll find for myself, what it’s all about. I have stopped reading articles that tell you what Twitter is really for.

      This blog won’t die as long as I can help it. It’s malnourished for now, but hopefully not for long.

      Like

      • I never read much abt Twitter myself..

        what i meant by ‘shortened URLs’ doing the talking’ is that people most often use Twitter messages as a ‘I support’ or ‘I like’ forum, by embedding links to favoruable articles / posts etc. Why escapist, because I expect certain reasons as to why you like or dislike something to go along with your statement (though of course, there is NO such compulsion, but it sometimes it gives your views more strength if you do).. Now, 140 characters allow you to get away without giving that explanation i.e. without elaborating on your individual perception to the issue. i am thinking aloud, maybe, hope you get what i mean…

        Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

