I, in Perspective

It’s “in” T and V, you could say. But there’s more to it, than that.

I have often heard folks asking me to look at the big picture; I have often heard myself telling folks to look at the big picture. I guess, it is all a factor of where you are and how big or small the picture looks from where you stand. My big picture is your detail and something like that.

I have often “given a perspective” to explain what I have said; I have often been “given a perspective” to help me understand. Nearly always, irrespective of who gives it, the perspective or the big picture is really a license to push an agenda. If you take the perspective, it only means that you become a part of; accept that agenda.

Bits of the Floor

Objects themselves do not change if you change your point of view. Metaphysicians may disagree, but in the simplest of the interpretations, that is true. What changes is what you see, how much you see.

Much of it is a factor of position. What you see and how much you see depends on where you are. On what stand you take. It also depends on what you are willing to see and what expectations you have set of what you are seeing.

It becomes more complicated when two humans see each other – more variables get added and the entire process of observation, connotation and denotation becomes a mangled web of real, unreal and the perceived.

The solution; the way to see clearly is to put yourself in perspective, then? For that is what you have in control. But then you have to know your own big picture; your own perspective – else how will you be in it?

It takes two of yourself then, I’d suppose — to put yourself in perspective: one to be in it and another to put you there.