Late in the Evening

There was a title and a thought that came to mind when I thought about this post. The title eludes me now; it may come somewhere, as I write this post. I hope.

The first thing I remember, I was lying in my bed
I couldn’t’ve been no more than one or two
And I remember there was a radio, coming from the room next door
My mother laughed the way some ladies’ do

Well it’s late in the evening, and the music’s seeping through.

It had to do something with posturing: the title. It was a nice word, that now escapes through the fine recesses of the mind.

But it had to do with a wonderful evening I had yesterday night, so let’s talk about that. The evening wasn’t a grand event. It wasn’t planned days in advance and there were no preparations around this evening. It was planned for the three of us and two showed up. Then we called up three others who were potentially perfect companions for the evening, but for various valid reasons, they didnt come, either.

The next thing I remember, I am walking down a street
I’m feeling alright I’m with my boys and with my troops, yeah
Down along the avenue some guys were shootin’ pool
And I heard the sound of acapella groups, yeah

Singin’ late in the evening, and all the girls out on the stoops, yeah.

It was left to the two of us to what we could make of the late evening. With withered thoughts of not having the people we would have liked to have around us, we began a slow start. There was the usual drudgery of daily dole that we could gossip about; we have learnt the heard way, that it quite doesn’t serve any purpose. After dispensing with formal gossip, we were ourselves again.

Friends.

What has become of us, we both wondered, if you allow me the guessing of his mind as I remember mine? One problem that friends face is the lack of topics. When you know everything, what’s the need to talk about anything?

Then I learned to play some lead guitar, I was underage in this funky bar
And I stepped outside to smoke myself a J
When I come back to the room, everybody just seemed to move
And I turned my amp up loud and I began to play

It was late in the evening, and I blew that room away.

We talked of how we have been interacting in the virtual worlds. What would be a good way to interact? What would be a better way to interact? What was the next gadget that would make us believe that our life was worthwhile? One thing led to another and gadgets gave way to the goodness of our lives. It took us a while. Perhaps it was the warm-up.

First thing I remember when you came into my life
I said I wanna get that girl, no matter what I do
Well I guess I’ve been in love before and once or twice have been on the floor
But I’ve never loved no-one the way that I love you

…and I love you

It took us six hours and a whole load of chit-chat to say just that — I love you, without ever uttering those words. Between friends, only three words matter; only three make sense. All the other million words that we use to converse, are pure foreplay or a tease. And a foreplay without the need for the final act. Twitter and Facebook. Email and SMS. Chat and phone-calls. When you reduce them all, all you want to say is — I love you. The Foreplay is the Act.

Richard Bach was perhaps right in saying that after God, Love is the most mangled word in the English language. I say — perhaps — only because, we haven’t stopped saying the word. Our choice of words has changed. The number of words that we use has increased. We now believe that a straight expression of emotion is uncouth; untoward. It has to be tempered. In our heads, love has narrowed in meaning.

Tilak Road

The original title I had in mind still eludes me. So I shall title this post the title of the song that Paul Simon sung for me: Late in the Evening. For various reason, which, my dear reader, you are now aware of.

And it was late in the evening, and all the music’s seeping through.

PS: Right-aligned content in italics is a song by Paul Simon. Copyright and such belong to whoever has claimed it and owns it.

8 thoughts on “Late in the Evening

  1. From the day you wrote this post i must have read it at least ten times but i had nothing to say. It makes me silent, makes me stare into the screen for a while, brings back something, a memory perhaps, As the late evening turns to a silent night i just get back to my music , still remembering the lines from this post.

    Like

  2. If there is nothing left to say, when you know everything, what is the need to say anything at all? .. this is the question that I am unable to answer as I read your post.

    Friends know! No need to tell? I don’t know any more.

    Like

  3. I don’t know either, frankly. This one particular instance, it felt the way it should feel. Friends don’t always know. Sometime we don’t know friends. And in the span, we sometimes lose friends.

    Like

  4. hey, came here while blog hopping and quite liked it.

    late in the evening, i read this post
    and reflected on all that’s being said,
    of friends and love and gizmos and gadgets
    and the one unsung song in my head and heart
    that i have been trying to get
    the lyrics and the tune flirt with me now and then
    but i have not been able to get it still.

    Like

  5. It’s an exquisite post, Atul. Beautiful in the way it weaves together so many elements and genres. I agree with you: I have a huge problem saying “I love you” to friends. I might say it in mail but never aloud. Silly na? Mostly, I think good friends are those which whom you can drift from topic to topic, be it daily mechanical or deeply philosophical. And then there are sometimes when even words fail and we sit in companionable silence like the two last people left in the universe.

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

