Remains of a Fortnight

Sometimes we do things the other way round. It must have something to do with our training from writing exams. Answer the easy questions first. There’ll be enough time then to answer the difficult ones later, need not necessarily go linearly. It doesn’t work like that for all problems you face, however. Somethings have to be solved in a linear manner. If you skip steps, chances are that you will find a solution that doesn’t work for you. What’s worse, you may never know you have the wrong solution!

I’ve been Norman Mailered, Maxwell Taylored.
I’ve been John O’Hara’d, McNamara’d.
I’ve been Rolling Stoned and Beatled till I’m blind.
I’ve been Ayn Randed, nearly branded
Communist, ’cause I’m left-handed.
That’s the hand I use, well, never mind!

There are times when you have to allow yourself to be defunct. In whatever function. Nostalgic criticism of how it once was, doesn’t help. When things stop happening as they used to, it either means that it should change or that you have done enough of what you have been doing and you should be doing something else.

I’ve been Phil Spectored, resurrected.
I’ve been Lou Adlered, Barry Sadlered.
Well, I paid all the dues I want to pay.
And I learned the truth from Lenny Bruce,
And all my wealth won’t buy me health,
So I smoke a pint of tea a day.

A process is not an alternative for applying intelligence or even common sense. Processes are glorified check-lists. A guide is not a textbook is not the practical. There will never be a substitute for your own understanding or comprehension or intelligence. No process can include every variable that makes up an interesting life. All possible variables incorporated in a process are retrospective. But by then some damage may have been done; some variables are transient, even.

I knew a man, his brain so small,
He couldn’t think of nothin’ at all.
He’s not the same as you and me.
He doesn’t dig poetry. He’s so unhip that
When you say Dylan, he thinks you’re talkin’ about Dylan Thomas,
Whoever he was.
The man ain’t got no culture,
But its alright, ma,
Everybody must get stoned.

Reputations can be dangerously destructive. They work as blinders on people who seek to have an open mind. When popular reputations crumble, there isn’t enough scope for resurrection. New-formed beliefs will blanket your reputation in darkness. Even the lingering respect of yesterday can’t do much.

I been Mick Jaggered, been silver daggered.
Andy Warhol, won’t you please come home?
I been mothered, fathered, aunt and uncled,
Been Roy Halee’d and Art Garfunkel’d.
I just discovered somebody’s tapped my phone.

Folk Rock
I just lost my harmonica Albert

Text in italics, (c) Paul Simon, A Simple Desultory Philippic (or How I Was Robert McNamara’d into Submission) About the Song

2 thoughts on “Remains of a Fortnight

  1. @Shankari:
    Thank ye!

    Actually, no. It was pretty painful. Not sure because of the content or the structure or just the recent block.

    I’d love to read about reputations.

    Care to have fun writing it? 😉

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

