Adieu!

For the life of me, I cannot write a farewell to London. It has often crossed my mind, and the memories come gushing. Things I will miss. Perhaps, there is no need for a farewell, because you aren’t leaving.

Red Telephone Box

I have over-written about how I love cities, and how three, in particular are favourites. Most of you will know how I feel.

I don’t remember having bade goodbye to Mumbai, about three years ago. But then, there is a good reason, that place is truly home. Then, this is too!

But I will miss:

The Tube
Weather
One Day Snow
Bookshops; Waterstones
South Bank
Tate Modern
Ales
Ales with friends
Pub Arguments (Read: Discussions)
That one pub in Glasgow!
Kebab Shops
Dodgy “Indian” eateries
Wearing overcoats
Suits
Ties
Cufflinks!
Train Travel
Train Conversations
Being in the “middle” of the world
Being a Londoner
Corner shops
Potion
Kew Gardens
Trent Country Park
Nero
AMT
The language
Scotland
My first home
298
299
My second home
267
237
65
Summer time adjustments
Watching people get the sun!
Friends who stayed back home, unplanned; planned
Foxtons
Thames
WH Smith
Jack Dee
Watermans Arms
Sri Lankan store in Hounslow

I’ll miss you R, but I don’t have to say it. You know it. I take back with me wonderful moments from the last two years or so. Right till today!

Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Adieu!

  1. This is hard. I am sure this is not even a comprehensive list. Letting go has never been easy. To get some thing you have to let go. harsh innit?

    I still miss the accent, and the tube.

    Like

  2. ==Dharma:
    Yes, all that touches us, becomes a part of us and the definition of who we are, in a way. Well, am back in Mumbai and will be here for a while!

    ==DR:
    Not a comprehensive list at all! And no, never easy, but once you have, it is a wonderful soft memory that doesn’t hurt.

    Ah, yes, the accent! 🙂

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

