Comment Prefix

I am at a loss.

What is the best way to prefix a comment author’s name? You must have seen the mish-mash of the different ways I have been trying this year.

==

@

@@

When I respond to more than one comment, and the response is longer (which seems to be happening often nowadays), what is the best way to prefix so that the demarcation is clear?

I have even tried making it bold, but I find that inconvenient, trying to insert the <tags>. Expect some confusion, till I set it right.

8 thoughts on “Comment Prefix

  1. I usually just use ‘@’. For replies to multiple comments in the same comment, I put a ‘@’ at the start of each comment-author’s name and start each new reply on a new paragraph.

    I did manage to download a WordPress plugin that shows the blog-author’s comment in a different format. Thus far I’ve only been able to set it to indent my comments but I guess bold, italics and different fonts might be possible as well. Look around for this one..it might suit your purpose.

    Like

  2. videoxy:
    that’s a mundane but acceptable idea, but it just doesn’t seem to get the “attention” I want it to! 🙂

    It’s the need to ‘stand-out’

    ==IdeaSmith:
    That’s for the WordPress.org (self-hosted thing) isn’t it? Not sure it works on WordPress.com hosted blogs. Actually, even if they give a basic toolbar to these ones, that’s good enough, methinks.

    Like

  3. Yeah, I was trying to be kind of funny, in place of giving a good idea. I wonder if you’ll develop something that will be later adopted by the blog community. I could see that happening. I’ll be checking back to see how this goes-

    Like

  4. ==RadioTooth:
    That would be something wouldn’t it, if I started something and that ended up becoming a standard! 🙂 You got me inspired here, truly.

    I am sticking to the == till I find something fancy and revolutionary! 🙂

    Like

  5. @ catches attention and is very useful to differentiate ur response to one reader from the other.. i used @ initially, then thought tht ‘at’ in itself sounds a bit harsh and stupid. so stopped and used nothing, just the name.. but it ws very difficult a pattern, so am back with @..

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

