Infinite Form

The thought’s structure eludes me.

It nags me, pokes and pricks me. where it hurts most: in the deepest recesses where I dwell. And the absence of the thought is all that I can write about. It is at the tip of my tongue, that idea, that thought: so to say – but it hasn’t found its form. Only form can be expression.

I spoke of many work-concepts today at a certain discussion. Then, a while later I spoke with a friend of more intricate human concepts.

Last trains are the bane of good conversations. I must say.

Form is, somehow, the prerequisite of any expression. I’ll admit, I have a bit of a hangover from my previous post. The artist. Not the one of the fine arts, but the artist of life.

You.

Imagine an artist who can’t form a thought. In a 3′ x 4′ canvas. A dangling paintbrush, dipped in yellow ochre, questioning a starting point on the canvas. Where do I start, where do I stop? What do I fill, how, what do I leave empty?

Alien in my Room - 35

Did Jackson Pollock crack this code? Or was he limited by available canvas space?

Why is form so important? Just because it gives shape to thought?

More.

Because it allows finite-ness. As normal humans, we are quite incapable of comprehending infinity. Other than as a word. As normal humans – we have to see the limit of all. It appeals to how our minds work. It is perhaps about control.

Deny it as much as you will; perhaps in the denial itself – you will see how you express your limitations.

7 thoughts on “Infinite Form

  1. Did I write this one on ur blog? Or did I not? anyway, here’s what Rumi says:

    ‘Out beyond the ideas of right-doing and wrong-doing, there’s a field. I will meet you there.’

    As i interpreted the post above, it seems that we, as a mortal, are obsessed with fitting each aspect-abstract or physical, into a definition. (My husband says I am obsessed with the exercise, though I don’t really think so.. 🙂 Perhaps that limitation of judgement or the concrete stamp of it, is what adds a form to a thought / action.. And that gel of thought and form is what a majority of people practice. those who dont are higher beings, arent they? 🙂

    Rumi has perhaps put it right in so few a words- there’s a field beyond the ideas of right-doing and wrong doing- and undefined though it may be, even that aura of thought has the most exquisite form..

    Like

  2. Doesn’t infinity make the thought all the more irresistible and beautiful? Equally enchanting is the fact that an infinite expression can be presented in so many finite forms.

    And yes, thanks for the linking to ‘The Ideal of an Artist’. Loved it!

    Like

  3. @@GAURI:
    Haha! Second person claiming my post! Feels good – knowing more people think alike!

    The need to fit everything in a definition is perhaps the result of how we communicate. I guess, as humans we are limited by the communication means available to us. Even in abstract expression, there is a limit – of form and shape.

    That field that Rumi talks of (thank you for that wonderful piece) is experience. No communication is possible in that field beyond of ideas of right-doings and wrong doings. We can meet there, but the moment we attempt expression, there is a limit; a definition.

    @@BHUMIKA
    YOu are welcome @ Ideal of an Artist. I am glad you enjoyed it as much as I did.

    Infinity is at once the most irresistible and beautiful thought. Do finite forms do justice to that beauty? Or are they just weak excuses of what was experienced? A surrender to the small-ness of how we express?

    🙂

    Like

  4. Why is form so important? Just because it gives shape to thought?

    Our minds are incessantly adamant on understanding things. And the basis of understanding (comprehension) is difference or classification. We can classify, only if we can differenciate. These classes represent the difference inferred from the ‘perceived’ form of objects. You’ve hit the bull’s eye with the following sentence –

    we have to see the limit of all

    Like

  5. @@D Kulkarni:
    Welcome to Gaizabonts!

    It is, I agree, an incessant need for us to understand things. Even if, unfortunately, we have to limit it before it is complete.

    Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  6. This is an excellent post. I’ve had very similar thoughts about form, finitude and infinitude.

    Pollack’s work is very compelling, and I think it gets about as close to “cracking the code” as any artist does. But in the end I think even it still possesses some kind of “form”.

    Even the idea of something “formless” itself has a form…. 😮

    On the subject of the artist, I wonder if the artist is the one who can point us toward the infinite by using the finite? Perhaps part of being an artist is seeing infinity, collapsing said infinity into a finite form, and showing it (as art?)?

    Like

  7. ==Baekho:
    Thank you!

    Interesting to note – even Pollack’s work has form, therefore limit? Perhaps limited by the size of the large canvas? 🙂 I don’t know.

    But, I would agree with the last bit in your comment – that artists are somehow able to show the essence of that infinite-ness, so that those (like us?) are able to comprehend it in some form. But does that lead to a loss of purpose? Do we see the essence or the form?

    🙂

    Sorry if I am going in a loop. That is perhaps (a part of) the answer of seeing art!

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

