Home and Away – III

2469

I have been home about five months in last twenty-four. The other nineteen, I have been at home.

It has been two years today since I officially left the (only) place I called home.

I have remained happily confused about the concept of home. I realised, as I wrote this, that it has been a while since I filed anything under the ‘Home’ or the ‘Roots’ category. Perhaps it is a sign of settling down. Perhaps not. When I had just left home, I filed quite a few posts under those categories.

It has been a glorious two years, and apart from the obvious craving to get into my car and drive off to heavenly Konkan, it has been a very fulfilling and an enriching two years. I had never thought about it, but to call two places home, is a privilege. (and more so, when they are two of your three favourite places in the world)

This is the longest I have been at home, away from home.

PS: Home and Away – II

6 thoughts on “Home and Away – III

  1. We were in Spain only for three years, but the residual impact on my life and memory has been enormous.

    It’s been more than 6 years back in Seattle now, and I still have a clear window into my life in Spain. Something catches me and I am there, remembering the mundane parts.

    It’s always the mundane parts that come back. In stories we talk about the amazing things, but in memories it’s always a still-life of a street corner or a table in a cafe. The kitchen first thing in the morning, or the street outside the front door.

    Mississippi doesn’t hold that for me, though it had a huge impact on my life as well.

    There was difficulty and beauty in both places but Spain was my home while Mississippi I merely endured as a foreigner (in my own country.)

    Like

  2. @@RADIOTOOTH:

    “It’s always the mundane parts that come back.”

    True!

    For me, changing cities every 2 – 3 years all my childhood means that I do carry a whole lot of such residue. I recently went back to a city where we lived when I was about 10, and made my companion find a bookshop for me that we used to frequent. Nothing impressive about it – but like you say – residual impact.

    Travel and staying away is an great eye-opener, yet there are those moments, when you often wonder which place you will call home, in the end. Or whether you will call more than two places home, and what that really means.

    Nice conversation with the self, for a quiet evening.

    🙂

    @@NEO
    So soon? Though you would be in the excitement phase now! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m in the same place I call home. I’ve always belonged to it and claimed it belonged to me. There’s a strange sense of alienation creeping in now. The same old familiar places look like from the past and everything is nostalgic. As though a century has passed by. Strange are the ways of the city and the way its contours change before your very eyes. You deny the change till it comes bang, catches you unaware and gives you a mix of a feeling of recognition and alienation at the same time.

    Like

  4. Two homes is good….hope you can afford it 😛

    Good you have a sense of belonging to two places…I’m beginning to ‘belong’ now…my previous ‘belonging’ forgotten, knew I never really belonged there. But then I still have two place I still belong. In the same city though.

    Like

  5. @@CITRIC:
    It does hit you, I have felt it – not a lifetime or generations – I have seen this change in a matter of five years. One evening, walking down the familiar road – you hardly recognise anything.

    Reminds me of my “Coach 78519” post and your comment on it!

    @@JOLVIN
    I am not sure if I can afford it mentally – it does sometime feel taxing.

    Two opposing sides of the city, almost! 🙂 Settled down, I see.

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

