Happiness

Happy New Year!

Can’t quite touch it, can’t quite hold it in. It comes unpacked and unwrapped, without its own decorative box. It doesn’t announce its arrival.

Yet we continue to believe otherwise. We try to sense it – as if it smells or tastes like something we know, try to take it in – as if it can be captured and kept. We look for shiny things that may indicate it’s presence, look for signs that inform of its coming. We look for signs.

And we are dismayed every time it eludes us. And elude us, it will. For we are cursed to receive all, only through five sensory perceptions. The one sense that allows us to experience happiness is the one condemned to rust and rot.

The ability to be.

In a moment when happiness envelops us, we are too busy; are too lost looking for all things tangible that we believe will make us happy, and happiness passes us by. It is the eternal struggle of filling emptiness with void, to get from nowhere to no place, and in that journey, we lose the moment that we search for, in between.

I stood outside a non-smoking establishment two days ago, having one of my best cigarette ever. I experienced a feeling I hadn’t, for a long time. I was almost suspicious of this foreign emotion. It enveloped me, gagged me of any possible expression or analysis, to the limit of being euphoric. Standing alone, looking out to the cold English evening sky, on that dark patio, happiness lit up like bright fireworks, giving me a slight hint of its identity.

I said, oh, so this is who you are, this is how you are. You know, I have been looking for you so many places, for so long. I wouldn’t have recognised you, I never saw a hint nor tint of you, in any of my quests.

It didn’t quite answer me, but I sensed an answer. In the dynamic effort to be who we are not, conforming to political correctness and imposed social sensitivity – we have desensitised ourselves to our selves. We are no more cognisant of our selves. We hardly notice our selves—the pain and tribulation of hard labour, to conform.

I smiled back.

In my be-ing, I am my happiness.

14 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. Beautiful reminder, just in time the for the New Year—so much anxiety and hope and expectation for “the future”—-we do indeed need to remember the ability to be.

    Thanks for this, and happy new year. 😀

    Like

  2. @@Baekho:
    Welcome to Gaizabonts! A Special Welcome, too!

    And a special welcome you get because you are the first person to comment on this blog this year!!! Thank you for your vist and I wish you a very Happy New Year.

    Somehow the mundane of the year makes us forget, I wish we all do, this year.

    @@Alaps:
    And to you too!
    🙂

    @@Gauri:
    Yes, it is unexpected and just hits you. I guess it happens more often than this, but we are too busy with things!

    Happy New Year!

    @@Bhumika:
    Those self-conversations, as you call it have been some of the most invigorating for me – gives food for thought for other conversations. They are the best, aren’t they?

    Happy new year to you to!

    @@EU:
    Trust you to find that one needle in a haystack! You really did pick on that one! 😀

    There wasn’t a trick anywhere, just a thought like most here. And yes, Happy New year to you! 🙂

    @@CitricA:
    Been a while! Thank ye! Wishing you a very Happy New Year!

    Like

  3. Funnily enough, I always feel like dancing when I am happy… as though the joy I feel can’t be contained within me and has to be let out of me else I will explode… and that is where dance comes in? I don’t know… but more often than not, I dance dance dance when I am happy. Can’t explain the feeling out loud, but a very much justified feeling to me inside my head.

    Maybe dancing is my ‘be-ing’?

    Thank goodness for those little things that are there at the right time… they can make you explode with happiness… a cigarette or a raindrop… oh, you’ll get me singing My Favourite Things from Sound of Music now!

    I enjoyed reading this post.

    😀

    Like

  4. Atul/Gaizabonts: I’m honored to be the first poster, and I hope your New Year is off to a good start. 😀

    Re: the “mundane”, I wonder if it’s the world itself which is mundane, or merely our point of view which makes it so? If we could change our perspective, could we perhaps realize that nothing is mundane? Or would our new perspective eventually become mundane once more….?

    Like

  5. @@SUNRISE
    I can imagine the feeling. 🙂 We all have our own sense of “being” and the more that we are able to “be” the more it keeps us “really” happy!

    Thank you, nice to see you here – been a while!
    Cheers!

    @@BAEKHO
    Pleasure is all mine!

    I think you are right @ mundane being our perception. Mundane becomes mondane when we don’t see the not-mundane in it.

    To enjoy a mundane task like shaving or brushing your teeth, or filing papers, sorting bills can become interesting – but we often take it up as a mundane or dull activity.

    The perspective becoming mundane is an interesting thought. Changing perspectives is the answer? 🙂 I am not (yet) sure.

    Thank you, nice discussion.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Untitled: Theory & Practice | Gaizabonts
  7. Pingback: Happiness 2.0 | Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

