O-So-Sexy!

I hate to admit it.

In fact I am in two minds about whether I will ever publish this post. See, I don’t quite like Shah Rukh Khan as an actor. Then again, I am silenced by all the women in my life (who happen to just love him, uncanny, all of them). So I carry the distaste, deeply buried in my heart. Like an inconsequential audience in a church wedding, I hold my tongue. Well, fine then, here I go.

I…

I liked…

No.

I am not posting this. For what little popularity my blog has, I won’t allow it. Ah, what the hell!

Yes.

I liked. (Tell the truth, tell the truth, and come on…)

I LOVED Om Shanti Om.

Got it out of the system; now I can write the “real” post.

For one, it left a huge bad taste in my mouth (only before I saw the movie) because I read about the Manoj Kumar controversy before I saw the movie. I assumed that the producers had allowed some seriously bad stuff to pass through their censor eyes in the movie. The thing is, after seeing the movie, if you are intelligent enough, many stalwarts of the Indian Film industry have enough reason to take offence. This is YET another example of not being able to take a joke and allow people to do things to express an opinion. Gagging the arts to ensure political correctness where it doesn’t deserve respect. I don’t want to give it any more footage. I think the “taking offence” was either a staged stunt, if not, then, taken too far. This is what is disgusting about the litigious society we live in today. I could be thinking banned words while reading a post on your blog and you could sue me (it isn’t impossible). It’s a bloody free-for-all. Come 2020 each of us will be busy, not making the world a better place, but suing each other (or saving ourselves from it). However, like I said, no more footage.

I am not sure what trade magazines are talking of it, but yes, I was in a theatre full of nine people. (Not earning forex, are we?) On couple was snogging way (you can discount them), the other one, left of us, was an interesting one. They were, perhaps in their late sixties and such, and they weren’t riotously laughing like I was. They had an interesting permanent smile all throughout. How so practically romantic!

Being able to relate, perhaps?

The sub-titles. I hate them, man, I hate them. Not on a Bollywood flick. Quarter of the time I was thinking – no – it doesn’t mean that – get the context – it doesn’t work like that. See the entire film once and then write the subtitles. I actually slid down the chair after a while to escape them wicked sub-titles.

I loved the film.

Period.

There is a teasing duality about that movie. And it doesn’t leave you at any time, even when the credits appear. At one level it is an “intelligent parody” of everything that was the seventies (oh, what wouldn’t I give to be this age, then) and at the other it is a regular “masala” movie. A parody in the genre that it is parodying. That would be a first? A remake of Karz? An extension of all that was? A happy change from the diabetic KJ and YJ and YC movies? Being on the edge for this movie wasn’t about the story – it was the fine transitions back and forth between parody and the apparent story. This double story play was gnawing at me all through. With each scene I was questioning whether I am seeing a parody or yet another standard “bollywood masala film”. That perhaps kept me on the edge of the seat in a theatre that had nine people in it.

SRK as usual has failed to impress me. (I have been accused earlier of having high standards), but I have new-found respect for him as a person. He has been in the news recently and he has come across as an evenly humorous and a sane person. (Read: smoking-related PIL case against him and the BCCI controversy).

For that, I have huge respect.

The effects were very well done, I have to say, especially the mixing of the old videos. The new girl is good. Deepika Padukone. A mix of Priyanka Chopra and Hema Malini, perhaps? Unfortunately (for her) she reminds me of Priyanka Chopra, a lot, who I quite don’t admire. Not much to speak about her acting, didn’t see her do a lot of that. Will wait for more of her stuff. Like I have been waiting for Vidya Balan’s movies. SRK, like I said earlier, is SRK. He isn’t either of the two characters he plays. He is SRK always. I hate that I haven’t seen Iqbal, but Shreyas perhaps need to do something to shed his Marathi accent if he wants to do something useful in the Hindi Film Industry. Er, especially when giving an interview about the film. Arjun Rampal doesn’t get a word anywhere wherever I write. I happily ignore him. If you didn’t know, by the way, there were 31 Bollywood personalities in one of the songs in the movie. Rekha, “clearly” stands out. My friend told me there was an Amrita Rao Somebody, I missed her. Thought she was an extra…er…junior artiste.

Dard-e-Disco has the highest play count of 1996 items in my iTunes. Speaks…er..sings volumes.

On a personal note, this was the first Hindi movie in the Cinema in London I saw with my best friend, and we had a good evening, before and after.

All, in all, if you haven’t got the idea: a great evening. F. Khan & Co., I’ll stack this in the conceptual shelf. Or, if someone gifts me another DVD, will put one on the “Ultimate Masala” shelf.

Sometimes I wonder if our exposure and education stopped us from enjoying a presentation, any presentation. Here I am, a critic of something I always believed in and took those dreams to my pillow, for all that I saw in Eastman Colour on a 70mm screen that helped me dream away in blissful self.

Ah, well

25 thoughts on “O-So-Sexy!

  1. ==Anumita:
    You know what, I think you like Shah Rukh Khan. Hmm.

    ==Neo:
    The problem is choice. Believe that or believe the post! 🙂

    ==EU:
    Why-o-Why, wouldn’t you believe it? To be able to parody a genre in the same genre, calls for an applause!

    ==Phish:
    Offline, offline.

    ==Jols:
    New Botox in town? 😀

    Like

  2. My family has seen it so I have heard a LOT about it- but now after reading this and more importantly after listening to this song (hey, where have I been?), I just might see it too.

    Like

  3. it is taking offense to heights, and we’re doing it more and more by the day.

    i don’t think i’ll watch the movie. srk always fails to impress me. and the theme – i wasn’t particularly kicked!

    @ education and exposure – i completely agree.

    Like

  4. I felt the movie and SRK were both silly and when someone asked Javedji why he wronte such lyrics “Dard e disco” he said he was asked to write a silly meaningless song to suit the situation{something in those terms} Sigh!!! and i seriously think the whoke movie was silly and meaningless. I wont watch it.

    Like

  5. ==Smita:
    Welcome to Gaizabonts!

    I have somehow failed to convince that the concept of parodying a genre in manner of the same genre is in fact an interesting one. I have a few kindred spirits, welcome! 🙂

    ==Alaps:
    I don’t fancy SRK either, but I did see the movie. You haven’t seen the movie. How do you know it’s silly? 😛

    And Akhtar Saab was doing ‘silly’ songs long before OSO. What about ek, do teen from Tezaab? at least dard-e-disco has one interesting line!

    Like

  6. For someone who dislikes SRK such a big post for OSO makes me wonder. Funnily while u claim to like the film you seem to have very little that expresses what you liked…there is more critisim than liking i C ! Well though SRK is not called King Khan just like that … LOVE him or HATE him. He get you to watch his films and makes them commercial hits … The Whole thing is that ki Bhaiya SAB se bada Rupaiya ! 🙂

    Cheers
    Payal

    Like

  7. ==Payal:
    The post, as you have pointed out – is about OSO, not SRK. He features in the post because he features in OSO.

    What I like about the film is “hidden” in the post. Search! 😛

    Like

  8. I came back to tell you that after the your reply i went back again to watch the movie and after three hours of silliness i still stand by my opinion,The movie is stupid and silly and so was his acting.

    Like

  9. Saw it finally. In large part it was due to this review hereand also two kids wouldn’t wouldn’t be denied seeing it again and dh who was keen I try even if I hated it later 😉

    Guess what?

    *I LOVED IT* (notwithstanding SRK)

    Especially the songs – like the Jeetendra inspired baddy match & Caravan type song! 😀

    My respect for KK has gone up so much- if he could sing the Ajab si song so well , he is IT.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. hurrah! what a fab review. i haven’t agreed so much with something someone else wrote about something else, in a long long time. it’s like I wrote the review and you stole it (controversy controversy). watch out, I could be out to sue you!

    seriously though, this is the first review which talks about the duality. damn i wanted to say that and couldn’t. damn, i was so apologetic that i was busy not looking apologetic. have people seriously missed it? i’ve seen two kinds of reviews: silly mindless … OR absolutely entertaining… but no one seems to be taking this stance (well apparently i should have).

    this post is gonna go places man. trust me.

    cheers,
    asuph

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ==Asuph:
    er…thank you (brb, locking up this post with Godrej, Nav-tal 7 levers and such)

    I think most people missed it – the point i.e. Which, I think you have got it in your corresponding post – a tribute – without the altar and rituals.

    (when you said it will go places, you didn’t mean your blog, did you?)
    🙂

    Like

  12. Pingback: Blog Potpourri « A Fine Imbalance

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

