When Tools Take Over

MacBooking

It’s like losing the pleasure of capturing an image to lenses, filters, tripods and the mathematics of exposure and shutter speed. When technique takes over the act.

I have been writing and deleting drafts of all things bloggable because I am yet to find the best combination of all blogging tools. I am yet to get used to the new keyboard (slightly wary of punching the keys too hard on the new cute thing and therefore missing out a few letters in the process, using too much of a delete key and missing a separate backspace key)

And the words that shape the thought of everything I see and feel as bloggable are hurting too, they aren’t flowing easily. This time however, the treachery doesn’t belong to the words. It’s the tools.

A craftsman is only as good as his ability to use his tools. Else, all he is, is a person with ideas.

Which isn’t that all that bad, really.

Update:
It’s not always that you know exactly what you want to write, sometimes friends help out. They are thinking the same things, similar things. I know how it ends, I am not sure how it starts.

8 thoughts on “When Tools Take Over

  1. I have a hard time getting used to new keyboards and computers too so I try to stick to just one. It used to be the big desktop but now I’ve gotten used to the laptop and love it. Using a Mac though…I’ve never touched one yet but I’d like to.

    Peace and tools today.

    ~ RS ~

    P.S. I don’t have time to click on the link in your post right now and I wish I did!! Love to you.

    Like

  2. ==RS:
    The link won’t go anywhere, I promise.
    😀
    Macs are nice, but it takes a bit of getting used to and often frustrates when your fav “tools” aren’t available for the Mac. Cheers to Tools!

    Like

  3. It’s often a problem that the tools I have or someone else has aren’t working correctly, and I have to fix them. It’s part of my job. I love and hate that part.
    Love it when it’s the only thing I’m trying to do, and esepcially if it’s for someone else.
    Hate it when I’m trying to edit a video or photo, or print something…

    Like

  4. ==RadioTooth:
    🙂 fixing them is going to be a later problem for me – I am still figuring out how to get it to work. I often wonder what would happen to a Mac user who shifts to Windows!!! 😀

    Like

  5. ==Jols:
    I am a bit happily surprised, you “approve”. Sorry about all those MacWonderfully-irrtating statements since I got one. But then, I love it.

    I sometimes wonder if the problem I have in life is being objective about things. Nothing for Mac OS as good as Windows Live Writer, btw 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Thank you, WordPress! | Gaizabonts
  7. Pingback: Converting | Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

