Uninspired by Respect

He is probably one of the most admired and respected persons in the country today. I am probably one of the few who doesn’t get as hugely inspired by him as the rest of the country does, which of course has led me to see more than a few raised eyebrows. I am not always inspired by the person I respect, and I do respect him. What most of those blind followers with raised eyebrows don’t realise that respect doesn’t necessarily precede inspiration or vice-versa.

Inspiration and respect are not necessarily mutually exclusive, however they aren’t necessarily mutually inclusive either (if that is allowed as an opposite). When you respect a person you don’t have to ape in the name of inspiration – in a way, this invalidates the respect – and possibly what the respectable person intended in the first place.

Every (small Indian) company aspires to be an Infosys in some way. Luckily – most of what Infosys is and how it was built is out in the open today. But if you would ask the people who built Infosys, I doubt that they would expect people to use their company as a template and build a few hundred Infosys-like organisations.

What is to be learnt from Infosys is not how they have become the wonderful organisation that they are, but why they have become who they are.

This article has the typical fingerprint of NRNM in it. I loved reading it because it appeals to what I believe NRNM really stands for. I suspect however, that because he has said it – most people will follow it only because he has said it. There is a strong philosophical undertone in the article – which isn’t obvious and I hope most readers of the bottom piece of today’s Times of India will take the effort to search for it, before this article is forwarded indiscreetly. Especially those who want to build another Infosys.

Infosys is the example of the concept, not the concept.

6 thoughts on “Uninspired by Respect

  1. Process demands compliance, and compliance demands conformation. It works well for organisations when they reach a certain threshold size, because to not do so would unravel everything. But this does not hold true in the beginning, where individual brilliance has a lot to do with the vision a company takes. And that is the danger of being inspired by a story that became a success, for one might ape what it is now and not what it was long before what it became now.

    Like

  2. ==Anil:
    A huge warm welcome to Gaizabonts. I hope that you aren’t one of the one-comment-while-I-pass-by kind of persons. What I have been saying for years now and have possible used words a thousand times more than this – you have said it perfectly in these few words.

    Moreover, it almost seemed blasphemy on my part – that the usual suspects didn’t have a view on this.

    Really, really glad to know you.

    Like

  3. When you respect a person you don’t have ape in the name of inspiration – in a way, this invalidates the respect – and possibly what the respectable person intended in the first place.

    I didn’t get what that means.Oh and thanks for the disclaimer. 😀

    Like

  4. Disclaimer: Infosys is the example of the concept, not the concept.

    I will get back with a post. I have some thing to say but I cannot do justice to it here.

    I still don’t get what that phrase means, but I will work on it.

    Like

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

