The Same Frame

The one on the left is due for new glasses (or lenses, if you prefer; given that they are synthetic, perhaps lens is better word), so off it goes today for refitting. The one on the right is an old one, which will be my frame for a couple of days.

IMG 4384

I’ve been using the left one for a while now, so this thick heavy frame is causing all sorts of trouble. It’s heavier and bulkier. I did use this one for over a year, but now I am not sure how I did. It’s quite irritating, especially the thick rims, which obstruct my view. Or, perhaps, I am now just too used to the rimless one. And of course, I have no idea of what’s fashionable. Are thick frames still cool?

The new glasses are just not replacements, they have an added feature of being reading glasses. No more trying to squint and read an SMSs and other fine print through the gap. I’ve never had reading glasses before, so when the frame returns with new glasses, it will quite an experience. I’ve seen through my father’s reading glasses a while ago, and didn’t think much of it. Now, when I will have my own, perhaps I’ll know what Paul Simon meant when he said:

It’s true, the tools of love wear down
Time passes
A mind wanders
It seems mindless, but it does
Sometimes I see your face
As if through reading glasses
And your smile, it seems softer than it was.

~ Proof, by Paul Simon

Different things in life, calling for a different focus

One thought on “The Same Frame

  1. Pingback: Pride, and Being Proud | Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

