A Hundred Years Later

He died two days ago, after a hundred years.

Vasudev Ganesh Rajopadhye

He had lost some faculties in the last few years, one of them was his memory and his ability to map who-is-who. [I stand corrected. He was 99, when he died, and was extremely attentive and alert till his last breath. He never lost his memory. He was perfectly fine.] My grand-uncle, who I wasn’t close to in his last few years, called it a day, or, perhaps a century. My childhood memories of being with him are fresh as today morning. If I ever learnt the value of presence it was from him. If he walked into a room full of people, there was little else that those people noticed. His nieces and nephews (my uncles and aunts) are somewhat relieved; it was difficult to see him suffering.

Notwithstanding what my uncles and aunts thought, I remember him as a strong person, nay – a strong personality. Our lives are a coalescence of what we can (or cannot) extract of personalities that we meet with. My grand-uncle, fondly called Nana, by all and sundry, never ever taught me anything, but helped me learn one thing for sure.

Be Good. Do good.

7 thoughts on “A Hundred Years Later

  1. A 100 years is a miracle even today. i don’t think losing someone from your life is ever easy. It doesn’t matter ow close or distant you are, there is a part of you that is always left affected. In some ways I feel it brings you closer to the idea of not being there anymore. Sometimes I feel that is what we fear the most or are affected by the most. I am sorry about his loss, I am glad he will find himself in a better place. I am very happy I didn’t miss this post.

  2. Sir, I respect your feelings. We understand what you said or wrote.

    But, with due respect to your feelings and your experiences about him, I cannot stop myself to make you familiar with certain facts.

    Vasudeo Ganesh Rajopadhye (Nana), age 99, was extremely attentive and alert till his last breath. He never lost his memory. He was perfectly fine. I agree that he was not well since last couple of weeks, but even in his last days his voice, his memory, his guessing ability, his intelligence and his brain was really very strong, powerful & sharp.

    And lastly, I would love to say that it was our privilege & honour that we got the opportunity to stay with him till his last moment.

    Sir, I know that you may not like this comment, but as a grandson it is my duty to clear all the misconceptions that you have about my grandfather.
    Sorry if you didn’t like it.
    Regards-
    Prathamesh Uday Rajopadhye.

    • Prathamesh, there is no need for you to apologise – I should – I was misinformed. I stand corrected, and have changed the post to reflect the truth that you have posted in your comment. I may have been misinformed about his last few days, but I certainly do not have any misconceptions about him, I have spent quite some time with him during my childhood.

      Thank you for your comment.

      • Thank you for the correction Atul dada. :-)
        And the photo that you uploaded is really very nice. I downloaded it. :-)

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

