Extreme Equilibrium

A friend of mine took up a social media detox routine. Was away from social media for a month. Another friend shut down his Facebook account altogether. (His new drug is Twitter, though. But the good thing is that he is back to blogging.) My best friend is contemplating deleting her Facebook account. In a completely different conversation, I used the phrase, “social fatigue” (I am sure someone coined it before I did)

Couple of days I ago, I considered a social media detox. I’d stay away from Twitter (not too difficult) and Facebook (a bit difficult) and Foursquare (kind of difficult but not that much).

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you know that I’ve not yet figured Twitter as yet. Facebook is something that I think I understand. (This would be a nice time to complain that although I’ve registered, I’ve not received the New Timeline). Linkedin is the new Orkut. (Unless bankers are willing to fund my company, I am not sure why they are connecting with me on Linkedin) Flickr stops being worthwhile just before $24.95 or whatever. Everybody on Goodreads makes me feel like I am in Kindergarten. And Google+, oh, forget it.

IMG 0193

As you may have guessed, apart from Facebook, I can pretty much stay away from all social networks. I did want, however, to detox from all social networks, including Facebook. Which presents a significant problem; Facebook, i.e. I run a free MOOC on Facebook where I have sixty-odd ‘students’ attending the online course and It’s not right for me to be away for a month. Then, there is a page of my photographs and another page for my company.

So, I found a way out. I’ll detox myself on Facebook on my profile, and on all other social networks, where it is me. But I’ll continue to tox, so to speak, on professional networks.

Which, somehow brings me to the question of poison, and toxicity.

Like Botox (which is technically poison, if you didn’t know, and as far as I know), can too much of nectar be harmful too? In living at the extreme ends of life as most of us do, we are notions of an oscillating pendulum. All you have to do is watch the pendulum in the equilibrium position, and imagine that, that is you – not moving. Or, of course, see yourself as the weight at the either end of the amplitude.

The extremes.

Funnily enough, Mr. Dube (our Physics teacher in school) did not define the movement of the pendulum on a number line. So left was not necessarily negative and right was not necessarily positive. He never said that equilibrium was a state that we should strive for. But he did explain to us what it meant, being in the middle and at the extremes. “Without external pressure, there will be equilibrium.” Imagine a Physics teacher on the school ground during your practice. Parabola. Force and 45 deg. I owe a part of my silver medal in the Javelin Throw to you, Mr. Dube, nothing more. At that time only that much was obvious.

I am now trying to remember what all you said when we were working the pendulum.

 

One thought on “Extreme Equilibrium

  1. Pingback: Fatigue Fighters | Gaizabonts

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

