Failed in Abstraction

Lorelle has an uncanny way of kicking your blog-backside, every once in a while. I haven’t taken up all the challenges, yet once in a while the chemical reactions are too overwhelming to ignore the act of opening your blog-editor and type. Just type.

This time, the challenge is to write about a post that died an undistinguished death. Write about a post or many posts. Doesn’t matter.

He hangs it out for the world to perceive.

That is what I did, when I wrote the post, A Discrete Process of Abstraction.

This post deserved more attention than it got because it summarised well, my thought process of all that goes into most of my blogs; especially this blog. Because the name of this blog is a coined word, many often ask me what it means. Well, this post captured the meaning of Gaizabonts as discretely as is possible. EU, perhaps, caught on to the message, to an extent; commented that, that is precisely the reason why most may find it difficult to comment on this blog. The lack of context; which is a kind of a loop. The reason of avoiding explicit context is to begin a conversation, abstract though it might be. In explicit context, all is (often) understood and clear. It seldom leaves any room for further discussion. (Yet my blog-travels have proven me hopelessly wrong); the fogged context is supposed to be a conversation starter.

I know I have lost significant participation here since this flavour of abstraction began.

Why do I think this post failed? It was very dogmatic, to begin with. Its statement left no crack even, to pry open a possibility for a conversation. Then, it used artistic metaphors for something that isn’t often considered artistic. Finally it got tangled in its own wordsmithery. It still makes meaning to me, even if I shed the context I have, but I can imagine why, somewhere towards the end of the third paragraph, the reader may get lost. Anthropomorphism abounds.

And I am in serious risk of losing this blog challenge. For the same reason.

6 thoughts on “Failed in Abstraction

  1. First of all thanks for introducing me to Lorelle on wordpress.

    Secondly, though all the above reasons for lack of activity over a certain post might be correct, I also find timing of the post written and the general mood of the reading community that also determines activity. Not to forget length of the post, language and human touch to it. I find some of my most sappy posts get more responses than happy or informative ones.

    You have an ever rising encounter count, hence I can only imagine how the lack of dialogue must bother you. As a blogger I too like to know the other’s thoughts when they read my post.

    Like

  2. i am tempted to agree with EU, i think it has a lot to do with the timing, which can hardly be determined beforehand.

    also, since i quite strongly believe that abstraction results in the lack of conversation – would you also suggest the opposite, being true? i ask, because my posts are usually quite contextual, or so i tend to think, and do not contain much abstraction. yet, there haven’t been too many conversations either!

    Like

  3. ==EU:
    You’re welcome @ intro to Lorelle.

    I agree, timing, length and such are causes enough for the lack (or the opposite) of activity on a post. While I am not absolutely sure what you mean by “encounter count” (Media uses this word in a very different sense for the Police), the idea was more about a post that I think should have got more attention than it deserved. When I look back, this wasn’t that long, but like AFJ has said elsewhere, it did not leave any scope for conversation.

    ==Dharma:
    Yes, those metrics do affect.

    I think otherwise. Abstraction causes conversation (this was perhaps an exception). And it causes conversation for the very lack of context. A very specific context removes possibilities of flights of imagination and parallel or tangential thought. The reader (viewer) is arrested by the available context and seldom thinks beyond the box (i.e. the context). Therefore there is appreciation and agreement or the opposite. The in-between thinking becomes difficult (unless there is extra effort on part of the reader).

    2 cents! :)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Of Slow Blogging and Active Participation « Kenfinity

Use your Twitter, Facebook or your WordPress account to comment

